top of page

Ben Haneman Memorial Student Prize

Until 2018, the ANZSHM awarded a prize in honour of its late President, Dr Ben Haneman. The Prize was for students, as Ben Haneman passionately wished to encourage the next generation of researchers in the history of medicine. It was awarded for the best paper submitted by a postgraduate student at an ANZSHM conference. The prize consisted of a book voucher or cheque for $200 plus a year's ANZSHM membership. The following students received the award:

2006  Kirsty Harris, 'In the "grey battalion": Launceston General Hospital nurses on active service in World War I'

2007  Edward McMahon, '"The bone is pointed": Aboriginality and "psychogenic death" in the colonial imagination'

2009  Katrina Ford, 'A menace to the wellbeing of the European’: Public health, germs and race in New Zealand 1900-1914'

2011  Clare Parker, 'Thalidomide, foetal deformities and the legal abortion debate'

2013  Veronika Neuzilova, 'The oil of the dugong: Towards a transnational history of an Indigenous medicine'

2015  Caitlin Mahar, '"The good death": The development of medical management of the dying in nineteenth-century Britain'

The awarding of the prize was discontinued in 2018 so that the ANZSHM's conference travel grants scheme, renamed the Ben Haneman Memorial Postgraduate Student Conference Grants, could be bolstered. 

bottom of page