How to become a member


Memberships can be easily purchased or renewed online. (There are a range of membership categories, including concessions for students and pensioners.)


Alternatively, you can complete a membership application or a membership renewal form. Print out the form and send it to us (details are on the form itself).

Office Bearers of the ANZSHM, 2019-2021


President: Prof. Catharine Coleborne

Vice-President: Dr Peter Burke 

Secretary: Mrs Maggi Boult 

Treasurer: Dr Charmaine Robson 

Newsletter Editor: Dr Derek Dow 

Health and History Editors: Prof. Hans Pols, Dr Peter Hobbins, Dr Susan Heydon

Internet Officer: Assoc. Prof. Paul Sendziuk

Social Media: Georgia McWhinney

17th Biennial Conference Convenor: Prof. Catharine Coleborne

President, Victorian Branch (MHSV): Dr Madonna Grehan 

President, New South Wales Branch (ANZSHM NSW): Dr Charmaine Robson

The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer constitute the Society's Executive Committee. Please send all correspondence to ANZSHM Secretariat: contact us


Council of the Society, 2019-2021*

The Council consists of the above Office Bearers (with the exception of the editors of Health and History) and the following individuals:


Dr Judith Godden (NSW) 

Dr Madonna Grehan (Vic)

Assoc. Prof. Louella McCarthy (NSW)

Dr Brian Reid (NT) 

Prof. Linda Bryder (NZ) 

Dr Criena Fitzgerald (WA)

Dr James Dunk (NSW)


Although members of Council do not represent their country, state or territory per se, at election time a broad representation of different areas is sought.

Honorary Members of the Society


The election of a member as an Honorary Member is recognition by the Society of an outstanding contribution by that member to the Society.


Prof. Emeritus H. Attwood (dec.)

Dr Ian Chapple (dec.)

The Hon. Mr D. Buffett

Prof. Emeritus B. Gandevia (dec.)

Dr G. Kenny (dec.)

Prof. John Pearn

Dr Peter Winterton

Dr Di Tibbits

Dr Peter Tyler (dec.)

Dr Noel Cass (dec.)

Mrs Marie Rogers

Dr Anthea Hyslop

Assoc. Prof. Hans Pols

Prof. Linda Bryder

Dr Derek Dow



Rules of the Society


The official rules of the Society can be accessed here.

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2019 by Paul Sendziuk for the Australian and New Zealand Society of the History of Medicine